Ranji Trophy – A Guide To The Tournaments and Betting

The Ranji Trophy was founded in July 1934, at a meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The competition is named after the Indian cricketer Ranjitsinhji, who first played international cricket. The Ranji Trophy is a regional competition where numerous local teams play against each other.

The first Ranji Trophy tournaments were held in the 1934-35 season. The initial competition was held in November 1934 between Madras and Mysore. Bhupinder Singh, the maharaja of Patiala, donated the first trophy.

Over the years, the Ranji Trophy has gained vast popularity. It has become a breeding ground for some of the best Indian cricketers. Currently, 27 teams take part in the Ranji Trophy competitions, with 21 of the 29 Indian states having at least one representing team.

Bet Now
  • Huge Bonus
  • Great Mobile Platform
  • Many Cricket Options
  • Great Bonus
  • Good Brand
  • Great Cricket Odds
  • Hindi Language
  • Great Betting Platform
  • Many Indian Casino Games

The Ranji Trophy Format

Over the years, the format of the matches has been changed several times. In the 2018-19 season, the teams contested in three-tiers: Elite Groups A and B, Elite Group C, and the Plate Group. All new sides are part of the Plate Group. Groups A and B will have nine teams, while Group C has 10 teams, and the Plate Group has eight teams. The teams will then play against others within their own groups.

The top five teams from Groups A and B, two from Group C and one Plate team will qualify for the quarter-finals. The group C qualifiers are promoted to Group A and B while the two last teams from Group A and B move down.

The Ranji Trophy Popular Teams and Players

Two players are at the top of the batting and bowling leaderboards in the history of the Ranji Trophy from 1934 to the present. They are Rajinder Goel and Wasim Jaffer. Jaffer has scored the most runs in the history of the Ranji Trophy with 11,775. Rajinder, on the other hand, is known as the best bowler by being the wicket-taker of the Ranji Trophy with a total of 640 wickets.

Other names to look out for from the 2018-19 season include:

  • Milind Kumar-Delhi with 1,331 runs
  • Ashutosh Aman-Bihar 68 wickets
  • Suryakant Pradhan-Odisha for Best Batting Strike Rate (115.08)

Betting on the Ranji Trophy

As of now, 85 seasons of the Ranji Trophy have been played, and Mumbai is the most successful team in the competition history. The team has won the title 41 times! The 2017/18 title was won by Vidarbha; this was their first-time win after defeating Delhi in the finals. The team also walked away with the title in the 2018/19 tournament after defeating Saurashtra by 78 runs.

Before you can start placing bets on the Ranji Trophy, you should find some cricket betting tips on websites offering them. These sites will provide you with a variety of odds before and during the events. Usually, they have the current odds tied to the latest fixtures, with top betting markets and top batsman as well as outright markets. The odds offered include draws, home team to win, and away team to win the Ranji Trophy.

Ranji Trophy - A Guide To The Tournaments and Betting

Choosing a Site for Ranji Trophy Betting

Numerous sites offer you a platform for placing bets on the Ranji Trophy. However, you need to be careful when making your site choice, as not all of them will afford you what you need. The best site should allow you to transact using rupees. Being able to make deposits and withdrawals using Indian currency is an essential factor that needs to be considered.
Shopping around for the best site is key to finding the best deal.

Look for a site that offers the best betting bonuses and promotions. You want a website that acknowledges their players by providing them generous bonuses and promos. Look for welcome bonuses, deposit bonuses, and also a loyalty program.

If you want to make it easier for yourself, you can select one of our recommended cricket betting websites.
You find them in our toplist.

Another aspect of a good Ranji Trophy website is one that offers live streaming. While you can watch on your TV, it is more convenient that you can stream the fixtures online when you have no access to a television.

Moreover, a good site should be mobile compatible. This allows you to stream your favorite match through your mobile device at any place and time without experiencing any problems. It also allows you to stream the game without a need to download any special apps to view it. As long as you have an internet connection, you only need to open your phone browser and start streaming.