100-Ball Cricket – All You Need to Know About 100-Ball And Betting

100-ball cricket is a simplified form of the game that originated from the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2016. This variation of cricket was created to feature in The Hundred competition. When creating the game, the board had the intention of reaching new audiences. Gradually, the game has gained supporters who expect to experience world-class sporting action for the first time in 2021. The idea came up due to plans to launch a new franchised cricket competition resembling the Indian Premier League. Initially, the ECB had plans to use the Twenty20 format, introduced by the same panel. After further discussions, the board unanimously decided to adopt a new structure with simple rules.

Bet Now
  • Great Bonus
  • Good Brand
  • Great Cricket Odds
  • Huge Bonus
  • Great Mobile Platform
  • Many Cricket Options
  • Hindi Language
  • Great Betting Platform
  • Many Indian Casino Games

100-Ball Cricket Format

The first proposal on the format was that each innings would compromise 15 six-ball overs and a final 10-ball over. In 2019, the format was twisted, and instead, the game would have 10 ten-ball overs. This means that players should change ends after 10 balls. There are two teams in this form of cricket, each playing a single innings consisting of 100 balls. Below is a detailed format of the game.

There are 100 balls in each innings, and a change ends after ten balls. Bowlers should deliver either five or ten balls consecutively and are allowed to deliver a maximum of 20 balls in each game. The bowling side gets a two-and-a-half minutes’ timeout. Each team starts a 25-ball power-play. During this power-play period, two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. Just as in the Indian Premier League, teams can call timeouts. A 100-ball cricket match lasts two-and-a-half hours. During the timeout, the coach can walk to the middle of the ground and share tactics with his players.

The Hundred Tournament

The first edition of the 100-ball cricket game will take place from 21 July to 21 August. The month-long tournament will host eight teams and will use the round-robin league and playoffs format. The sports event was scheduled for 2020 but delayed due to the Covid-19 outbreak. Administered by the England and Wales Cricket Board, the 100-ball cricket format was developed to attract more crowds to watch the sport, specifically the younger population.

The new format requires that the game takes lesser time. Cricket betting fans have something to enjoy over the summer period, both physically and on screen. The BBC has plans underway to air the competition for free. Selected men’s matches and all women’s matches will be available for streaming on Sky Sports’ YouTube channel. Both genders have been accorded equal treatment in the tournament. The prize money is identical on both the men’s and women’s sides. A plus to cricket enthusiasts is that a single ticket will give them access to both the men’s and women’s games.

100-Ball Cricket - All You Need to Know About 100-Ball And Betting

Squads in the Tournament

The teams you should expect in the tournament include Birmingham Phoenix, London Spirit, Manchester Originals, Northern Superchargers, Oval Invincibles, Southern Brave, Trent Rockets, and Welsh Fire. Teams participating in the first edition will have fifteen players each. Two will come from the best performers of the T20 Blast. And just like any other sporting event, this will be an excellent season for betting enthusiasts.