Cricket Rules – The Basic Rules and Formats of Cricket

Undoubtedly, cricket is a popular sport played in a variety of formats all over the world. The original game was test cricket, and all types consist of eleven team members ranging from batters, bowlers, a wicketkeeper, to all-rounders. The all-rounders are usually players who can bowl and bat but can sometimes include specialist wicketkeepers who can also bat or bowl. The game is played on a cricket pitch consisting of a formally prepared “square” of grass, which is a standard 22 yards in length and ten feet wide. At each end of the “square” are two wickets of three stumps each. These can loosely be described as uniform length pegs (stumps) that are knocked into the ground. Each set of stumps has a grooved top and has two bails placed onto it.

The object of the game is to hit the wickets by beating the batter and dislodging the bails. The batsmen and women will try to stop the ball from hitting the stumps to avoid being out. A run is scored if the ball is hit and the two batsmen run from one end of the square to the other. The more times this is done, the more runs can be scored. A boundary rope runs around the cricket pitch between 65 and 90 yards from the batsmen. If the ball crosses the rope when hit, then this counts as four runs, and if the ball is hit over the rope without bouncing inside the boundary, then six runs will be scored.

Bet Now
  • Great Bonus
  • Good Brand
  • Great Cricket Odds
  • Huge Bonus
  • Great Mobile Platform
  • Many Cricket Options
  • Hindi Language
  • Great Betting Platform
  • Many Indian Casino Games

Further Rules of Cricket

The ball is standard and is made of wood covered in leather. The leather can be red for regular cricket or white if games are to be played at night. The bat is also wooden, with willow being a popular choice for many batters. As well as the 11 players and two batters, two umpires adjudicate on the game. They will make a decision if a batsman is out, but in this advanced age, the team has the power to ask for a slow-motion replay where technology such as “Hawkeye” can confirm or overturn the umpire’s decision. Such requests are usually limited to three.

Another way to get out is LBW (leg before wicket), where the leg but not the bat stops the ball from hitting the stumps. Again this is the umpire’s decision and is subject to appeal. Batters can also be caught by the opposing team’s fielders or run out if a fielder hits the stumps and dislodges the bails before the batter reaches the safe ground. The test matches usually run over five days, subject to the weather conditions. Each team has two innings where all 11 players try to score as many runs as possible.

Different Formats of Cricket

Although test cricket is the original form of cricket, it is also played in different formats. The one-day matches consist of 50 overs each when each team’s bowlers can bowl up to a maximum of ten overs, i.e., a sequence of six successfully bowled cricket balls. The match was designed to be able to finish in one day so that cricket enthusiasts can watch the game in its entirety. Another popular form of cricket is T20, where each team is limited to 20 overs of bowling with broadly similar rules. The emphasis of the shorter formats is to score as many runs as quickly as possible. Once again, the match is over in less than one day.

Cricket Rules - The Basic Rules and Formats of Cricket


There is no doubt that cricket is an exciting sport enjoyed in many countries such as England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. It has a substantial and enthusiastic fanbase, and the variety of formats make it a popular sport to wager a bet on. Fans of cricket betting can find a multitude of online and in-shop betting opportunities globally. There is no sign of the popularity of cricket diminishing around the world, and being able to wager makes it all the more exciting.